Best practice forum (Archived)

Permissions to see all user profiles

? ?
Permissions to see all user profiles
by ? ? - Tuesday, 10 May 2011, 9:29 PM

Hi, my apologies if this has already been covered in this forum. 

I have Administrator permissions.  What I need to do is give a colleague (who currently has Learner permissions) 'read' access to all user profiles on our site.  This is to enable her to direct learner enquries to the correct course Trainer.

I'm new to this sort of thing (syst admin) - can anyone tell me how to do this, or point me in the direction of instructions?

Many thanks in anticipation

Ali

Austen Sinclair
Re: Permissions to see all user profiles
by Austen Sinclair - Tuesday, 10 May 2011, 9:43 PM
Group PartnersGroup TXP Site Administrator

Hi Ali W

? ?
by ? ? - Wednesday, 11 May 2011, 2:47 PM

Hi Austen, I wondered if I might come across you here!  Thanks for replying, your msg seems to have been cut off however...  Cheers, Ali

Austen Sinclair
by Austen Sinclair - Wednesday, 11 May 2011, 3:09 PM
Group PartnersGroup TXP Site Administrator

Hi Ali

I know your question is specific to just one permission but it raises a wider issue of best practice in Totara around Role & Permission assignments.  Below is a summary of our roles configuration and I hope by sharing others will do the same.

We launched as a Moodle site in 2006 and assigned everyone as a Staff Member (Moodle Student Role) and anyone who needed to create/edit course pages we gave them the Site Admin role.  This worked surprisingly well as those ‘trusted’ with this right were informed (and regularly reminded) that they are ‘only four clicks away’ from deleting the LMS.