Suggest Totara Learn features

TL-22485 Manage the ability to save searches

Craig Eves
TL-22485 Manage the ability to save searches
by Craig Eves (Totara Support) - Monday, 30 September 2019, 6:27 PM
Group Totara

Problem statement

When a report is shared with another user that includes a saved search the other user is able to change the saved search and access records the person sharing the report may not want them to access.

Use Case

As an Administrator I create a report that shows the completed elearning courses by a specific department, so I need to create a saved search as a default view of the report, limited to elearning courses. Then I need to share this report with a person in that department that needs to see only the completed elearning courses, not seminars, not blended learning.
By sharing this report I don't want that the person can see or modify the default saved search I shared and I don't want the this person can save a search: he should use the saved search I shared with him as is, no possibility to change or reset it, or to save a new search.

Suggested solution

Add a permission to edit/create saved searches

Alex Carrick
Re: TL-22485 Manage the ability to save searches
by Alex Carrick - Tuesday, 1 October 2019, 6:57 AM
Group Partners
At first I was going to say "isn't this the point of the content/access tabs"  - but I can see the use case that you only want to show one type of course - and that's the requirement (as opposed to focusing on the "specific department" part which is what I did at first"

Another possible solution would be to create a configuration on saved search itself (something like 'locked') that doesn't allow users to adjust the saved search.  I could see this being used in conjunction with Report Table blocks - since users can access the full report from the block, and then get access to records you don't want them to (parallel use case)
Steph Wild
by Steph Wild - Wednesday, 2 October 2019, 3:43 AM