Best practice forum (Archived)

Audience assignment after Totara Sync

Mei Chan
Audience assignment after Totara Sync
by Mei Chan - Sunday, 2 November 2014, 5:43 PM

Again I am still very new to Totara and hope this question make sense..

I uploaded some new users and have noticed they're not assigning to audiences and thus programs or courses automatically until some time after (say 24 hours).

I reckon it's CRON related, then run the CRON under Home> Site administration> Server> Cron

However, it's still not assigning with a matching audience rule.

I might be missing something here. Anyone knows?

me
Re: Audience assignment after Totara Sync
by George Angus - Sunday, 2 November 2014, 6:54 PM
Group Totara

Hi Mei,

This is the program cron which runs daily, it checks to see if its been run in the past 24 hours so running the cron manually will not trigger it. It is possible to make it run more frequently - but then you may face performance issues.

regards,

George.

Mei Chan
by Mei Chan - Sunday, 2 November 2014, 7:05 PM

I see. Thank you George! Running daily is fine but occasionally will need to manually trigger it for a manual error fix (e.g. fix an error withtin Totara Sync).
Is it a program to be triggered in Totara application or something on the server side? How can I trigger this?

me
by George Angus - Sunday, 2 November 2014, 7:37 PM
Group Totara

Hi Mei,

If you look in the code here: totara/program/cron.php

You can change the settings here:

$hourly = 60 * 60; $daily = 60 * 60 * 24; 

cheers,

George.

? ?
by ? ? - Monday, 3 November 2014, 2:49 PM