Best practice forum (Archived)

How to assign multiple "managers" to a learner?

Wouter Maenhout
How to assign multiple "managers" to a learner?
by Wouter Maenhout - Tuesday, 17 May 2011, 12:20 AM
Group Partners

Hi, i'm pretty new at Totara.

I was wondering how i could assign multiple managers to 1 learner. In our case we have a training coordinator, team leader, mentor, ... all with different responsabilities towards the learner.

Is it possible to have more than 1 or even more than 2 managers assigned?

Thanks in advance.

This forum post has been removed
Tuesday, 17 May 2011, 1:11 AM
The content of this forum post has been removed and can no longer be accessed.
Wouter Maenhout
Re: How to assign multiple "managers" to a learner?
by Wouter Maenhout - Tuesday, 17 May 2011, 1:24 AM
Group Partners

Hi Dani,

thanks for your swift response.

If i understand Totara well, line managers (assigned managers to a learner via the profile) are currently the only ones (next to the learner himself) who are able to implement learning plans and track their immediate progress.

Via the report builder "higher ranked" managers would be able to see the different reports of all the people "under" them, e.g. Manager of depth 1 will see everyone on depth 2 and 3. Manager of depth 2 will see everyone on depth 3.

Is this correct?

Maybe it would be possible to allow "managers" higher up in the hierarchy to create learning plans for everyone in the deeper levels based on the organisational or Job position hierarchy.

Thanks in advance

Craig Eves
by Craig Eves (Totara Support) - Tuesday, 17 May 2011, 2:31 PM
Group Totara

Hi Wouter

That is correct about only the manager assigned in the users primary position will have access. There is some discussion about making this more flexible , this would be a big job.

The report builder has the option under the Content tab to include records from child positions or organsations and from memory this includes all sub levels.