Best practice forum (Archived)

A simple solution for qualifications?

Sue Page
A simple solution for qualifications?
by Sue Page - Monday, 14 November 2016, 6:10 PM

Is there a simple way to record (and report on) qualifications obtained by employees? We have Totara as a pilot (Cloud-based) and I use it to deliver SCORM packaged technical training to our sales team. We have no internal support for this service and it's about 5% of my day job, so I am no expert. We would now like to extend its use to record qualifications such as first aid certificates (with a renewal option), 4WD training, advanced driver training, etc. Most of these are one-off pieces of training delivered by external parties. We don't want to provide links to face-to-face courses as we have staff all over the country and no admin support to manage this.

I tried certifications for the first aid, but ran into issues because of the need to identify an activity type. I chose face-to-face, but it just keeps making me schedule sessions. I only want to check a box that says Person X has completed this on Y date and have the system tell them a year from now they need to do it again.

I looked at adding evidence for the other certificates, but that just seems messy. I'd like to be able to have a predetermined list of common qualifications that can be attributed to people as they achieve them.

Can this be done? I suspect there is an easy answer, but Totara is such a complex beast when you don't use it very often. Any help will be much appreciated.

Nathan Lewis
Re: A simple solution for qualifications?
by Nathan Lewis - Monday, 14 November 2016, 6:30 PM
Group Totara

Hi Sue.